In the final round of the Peter Jackson VFL home and away season North Ballarat gave departing coach Gerard FitzGerald an ideal send off by defeating Coburg, Sandringham secured a top-two finish and home final and Footscray secured a spot in the top four with a 28th-minute goal to Tom Boyd.

Box Hill Hawk’s Sam Grimley (42 goals), Port Melbourne’s Jordan Lisle and Richmond’s Liam McBean shared honours for the Frosty Miller goal-kicking medal.


Geelong 19.13 (127) d Northern Blues 6.10 (46)

The Cats finished off their season with a dominant win over the Blues from the outset.

Geelong was able to keep the Blues scoreless in the third quarter whilst booting six goals of their own. The season of both Geelong and the Northern Blues have reflected their AFL affiliates with neither sides making finals.

Leading goal kickers:

Geelong: G. Horlin-Smith 4, S. Kersten 3
Northern Blues: L. Jones 2


Geelong: J. Sheringham, J. Cunico, G. Horlin-Smith, J. Cowan, T. Ruggles, M. Stokes
Northern Blues: S. Murray, S. Cattapan, L. Jones, T. Wilson, B. Toman, L. Kilpatrick


Collingwood 10.12 (72) d Port Melbourne 9.10 (64)

Collingwood secured its finals spot with a win over the Borough’s at Victoria Park. Port Melbourne’s five-goal-to-two third quarter put pressure on the Pies, but they were able to steady and move into the finals with solid form. Port Melbourne will look to 2016 now, hoping for a better run with injuries.


Leading goal kickers:

Collingwood: B. Moloney 2, P. Karnezis 2, N. Gray 2
Port Melbourne: D. Toman 2


Collingwood: B. Monkhorst, B. Kennedy, A. Oxley, J. Frost, J. Witts, R. Pendlebury
Port Melbourne: T. Phillips, D. Mascitti, B. Pearson, T. Pinwill, T. O’Sullivan, G. Dickson


Essendon 12.8 (80) d Richmond 9.9 (63)

Essendon came away with a solid win but it wasn’t all smooth sailing for them, after enduring some nervous moments in the final quarter when Richmond got within a goal.

Kyle Langford returned to the Bombers VFL line up and was amongst the best with team-high 24 disposals including eight marks and six clearances. Ariel Steinberg was also important in the Bombers’ win keeping Frosty Miller leader, Liam McBean, to just two goals.

Leading goal kickers:

Essendon: K. Hardingham 3, J. Thompson 2
Richmond: L. McBean 2, M. McDonough 2


Essendon: L. Byrne, K. Langford, J. Polkinghorne, J. Ashby, A. Steinberg, K. Hardingham
Richmond: R. McKenzie, M. Dea, M. McDonough, C. Knights, D. Astbury, A. McQualter


North Ballarat 14.10 (94) d Coburg 7.10 (52)

The Roosters farewelled departing triple premiership-winning coach Gerard FitzGerald by recording a fifth consecutive victory. A six-goal third quarter set up the memorable win for North Ballarat and fitting farewell for their coach.

Leading goal kickers:

North Ballarat: N. Rippon 4, J. Keeble 2, A. Hooper 2
Coburg: C. Mance 2, D. MacDonald 2


North Ballarat: J. Tippett, T. Dumont, O. Stephenson, N. Rippon, M. Sewell, L. Kiel
Coburg: L. Hunt, R. Fox, L. Johns, T. Goodwin, M. Hartley, J. Williams


Sandringham 12.17 (89) d Casey Scorpions 5.8 (38)

Sandringham secured their top-two finish after beating fellow top-eight team Casey.

Despite a goalless opening quarter, Sandringham was able to take the lead with five unanswered goals and hold Casey to just one goal in the second half.

Leading goal kickers:

Sandringham: A. Saad 4, T. Dennis-Lane 3
Casey: J. Kennedy-Harris 2


Sandringham: A. Saad, L. Pierce, C. Jones, M. Cook, A. Siposs, D. Weickhardt
Casey: T. Smith, J. Kennedy-Harris, D. Terlich, M. White


Williamstown 11.16 (82) d Box Hill Hawks 10.8 (68)

Williamstown, led by Nick Meese and Sam Dunell, enjoyed victory over ladder-leaders Box Hill Hawks to find momentum heading into finals. The Seagulls dominated all game but their inaccuracy lead to a 14-point margin that didn’t accurately reflect the game. Box Hill’s Sam Grimley kicked one goal to tie him with Jordan Lisle and Liam McBean for the goal kicking medal.

Leading goal kickers:

Williamstown:  S. Dunell 4, D. Conway 2
Box Hill Hawks: C. Williams 2


Williamstown: T. Hine, D. Fahey, S. Dunell, M. Banner, N. Meese, B. Jolley
Box Hill Hawks: M. O’Donnell, N. Evans, D. Willsmore, B. Whitecross, T. O’Brien


Footscray 9.11 (65) d Werribee 8.13 (61)

Footscray got off to a flying start kicking the first five goals of the game before Werribee, lead by Majak Daw, were able to capitalise in front of goal and put pressure on the Bulldogs. Werribee led at the final change but was unable to defeat a determined Footscray who had a spot in the top four up for grabs. A late Tom Boyd goal secured Footscray’s position in the top four.

Leading goal kickers:

Footscray: M. Buchanan 3
Werribee:  M. Daw 3, M. Wood 2


Footscray: C. Daniel, B. Prismall, J. Kelly, M. Buchanan, A. Cordy, F. Roberts
Werribee: D. Currie, S. McMahon, M. Hanson, K. Harper, J. Robinson, M. Daw